Film London and Channel 4 presented this year’s Jarman Award at a special event at London’s Whitechapel Gallery in association with the Whitechapel Gallery. For this year the shortlist is expended to ten artists working with film and videos. The winner of the 2011 Film London Jarman Award will be awarded a £10,000 cash prize and a broadcast commission, with a budget of £20,000, to make a five short moving image artworks for Channel 4’s newly launched Random Acts art strand. The winners are the filmmaking duo Anja Kirschner and David Panos. The other shortlisted artists are:

  • Ed Atkins
  • Claire Hooper
  • Torsten Lauschmann
  • Elizabeth Price
  • Laure Prouvost
  • Hilary Koob-Sassen
  • Clio Barnard
  • Corin Sworn
  • Imogen Stidworthy

The artists create ambitious, richly layered films that consider the possibilities for political art and social transformation. The recent solo exhibitions of Anja Kirschner and David Panos could be visited in most galleries throughout Europe.

“Working fluidly between cinema and gallery practice, they have produced a distinguished body of work whose sophistication and activist spirit impressed the jury.”, said the jury about the filmmaking duo Anja Kirschner and David Panos.

More about the Jarman Award on this link.